A Conversation with Music Producer Santino De La Tore ( Aka SDLT )

Q : How did you become a music producer? Any particular reason behind it ?

For the simple reason that I want my music to sound the best I could.

 

Q : How is to be a music producer now a days?

Awesome! You can create your own studio in your garage! There’s so many tools nowadays that you can make records in a few days. At the end, it’s about the song and the interpretation. The rest is just good sound. So many people confuse a music producer with a good sound producer/engineer. In my case, I am trying to make the best of the song, the arrangements, the structures, the interpretation, the lyrics, etc. After I am satisfied, I give it to a good sound engineer.

 

Q : I’m interested in your musical roots – which musicians have been the greatest influence? What are your favorite albums?

I grew up with heavy metal music, Iron Maiden, Black Sabbath, etc. Then I started to listen to classic rock, Led Zeppelin, etc. Then I continue opening the horizon with many other genres like House Laungy music, Reggae, Trip Hop, Latin music, etc.
Now I can listen to Depeche Mode and two hours later I am listening Buena Vista Social Club in my car.

 

Q : What projects are you working on right now?

Currently I am working on seven albums, they’re all in different genres.

Celeb2

Q : Do you produce other projects besides your music?

I’d rather not. But sometimes I do.

 

Q : What instruments do you play, and which ones do you compose songs with?

I play guitar, voice, piano, drums, bass. I mostly compose with my guitar, sometimes on the piano.

 

Q : What kind of training have you had, if any ?

Well, I had the best music teachers in Perú, I study Rythm, Harmony, Composition. I had so many guitar teachers that helped me to play flamenco, classical music, rock and at the end I was very focused to become the best singer, so, I had about five vocal coaches.

But to be honest, the best teacher was the stage, to be in front of the people and just unleash the beast that is in me.

 

Q : What is it like to produce music for movies, TV series and commercials?

It depends. When it is a specific request, you just have to follow orders, most of the time they give you an example of how to sound. Sometimes you have to create something from scratch and get into the scene.

In my case, most of the time there are songs that I already created without any image, and the music supervisors chose them to use it for a specific scene.

 

Q : Did you choose this industry, as a career, or as a hobby?

As a passion. I didn’t choose this industry, it just happens that I end up in it… but not too deep. I chose music as a form of expression.

 

Q : What’s your goal in life you want to achieve next?

Honestly to be a father of my two kids is the most beautiful thing the universe could give me and I can not ask for more. Whatever comes is a plus.

 

Q : What do you think about the internet as a tool for promoting yourself & your music?

I love it! You can be in contact with the people, friends, family in seconds! It’s a great tool to share.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

